Saturday, September 23, 2017

whose home?

when i come home after a long day, this is my fave place to sit back and relax in. my big brown chair. it's nicely worked in. 
of course the kittens know this, 
they really could care less . . . .


Friday, September 22, 2017

as above . . . so below

the sky above . . . .


the river below . . . .


Thursday, September 21, 2017

into the river clouds


"Everything that was broken has
forgotten its brokenness. I live
now in a sky-house, through every
window the sun. Also your presence.
Our touching, our stories. Earthly
and holy both. How can this be, but
it is. Every day has something in
it whose name is forever."

mary oliver


Wednesday, September 20, 2017

volvo p1800s

on a recent ride, i noticed this car pulling into a vegetable stand. i chatted with the owner and eventually asked if he was good with me taking pics. this was at one time one of my dream cars - a volvo p1800s, designed by pietro frua (who also did work for - among others - maserati). this one looks to be a 1965 model . . .



Tuesday, September 19, 2017

home under a setting sun

biking on the sixth line of smith . . .


Monday, September 18, 2017

early autumn

i rode to lakefield this afternoon. i enjoyed a fast, sweaty ride north. on the return journey i gifted myself a more peaceful ride along the old railway track, now repurposed as a trail.




Sunday, September 17, 2017

Saturday, September 16, 2017

the summer porch

the porch
late summer
a rich 
ripe summer 
remembering

a summer
that we will remember
for the many goodnesses
that we'll use to describe it with





Friday, September 15, 2017

the silver lining

riding home.
under this immensity.
i stopped over and over
and watched it grow.







Thursday, September 14, 2017

the dark gift

"Someone I loved once gave me a box full of darkness. It took me years to understand that this too, was a gift."

Mary Oliver, "The Uses of Sorrow," Thirst: Poems


Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

this is what it is . . . .

the sun's light always finds the flowers . . . .



Monday, September 11, 2017

kitten tv (1)

one part of my morning routine is to open up the downstairs windows . . . i call this "kitten tv". if something is happening out there . . . well . . . they race from window to window to keep up on the neighbourhood action . . .


Sunday, September 10, 2017

my morning bunny friends

some of my morning rides are shared with bunnies . . . .







Saturday, September 9, 2017

an after school recharge ride

after school . . . a sweet ride north and into the wind for us and then - in the returning ride south - that little gift - the sweet "hand on the back" of a tailwind. 
on our way home, 
we headed off the trail 
and shared some quiet time in the woods and beside the river . . . .





Friday, September 8, 2017

the second day

a soft fog lifted off the river as i rode in to school . . . . 





Thursday, September 7, 2017

the fall


Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Tuesday, September 5, 2017

the first day


Monday, September 4, 2017

around the corner

among the small joys: waking into a rainy sunday morning!
what bliss!
so, for company i chose a pot of tea and a very good book to read on the front porch . . . .
later, i put on my "it's going to be wet wherever i go gear" and rode around town picking up food and plants.
along the way i saw this little space . . . it said "it's around the corner" . . . .
what's around the corner? well, my favourite season (although i truly love them all) . . . .




Sunday, September 3, 2017

Saturday, September 2, 2017

the bigger picture

riding in to school to set up my class and loving the so very small flowers and their place in the bigger picture .....



Friday, September 1, 2017

fountain and cloud

the little lake fountain kissing the sky . . .


Thursday, August 31, 2017

cloud bank

looking south over dummer township  . . . .


Wednesday, August 30, 2017

Tuesday, August 29, 2017

golden

i was riding home yesterday as big brother sun slipped back behind the hills on the far side of the otonabee river valley. a chance opening in the leaves of the trees on the west side of the path let some of the last pure golden light onto - well - this beautiful (albeit sneeze-making to some) goldenrod . . .


Monday, August 28, 2017

late august

she put on her prettiest dress . . .


Sunday, August 27, 2017

stream

among the small joys:

i stopped for time by this stream, just to listen to it . . .


Saturday, August 26, 2017

golden!

goldenrod catching the sun's rays towards the end of another beautiful summer day!


Friday, August 25, 2017

bottled gentian

a new to me indigenous species . . .

i saw this just south of lakefield yesterday . . . .

Bottled gentian (Gentian andrewsii)



Thursday, August 24, 2017

waterfall

time beside this little waterfall yesterday . . .




Wednesday, August 23, 2017

intuitive painting

an intuitive painting workshop with my friend brianna gosselin . . . .


midway through the process . . . .


it is very messy work . . . . 
for a change!